North Petherton Town Council consists of fourteen Councillors who represent four Wards; namely North Newton, Hamp Bridge, Moorlands and North Petherton which includes the villages of Wilstock and Stockmoor. Councillors are elected every four years. The Council figurehead is the Mayor who is elected annually in May of each year. The Council meets every month and has Committees for Allotments, Cemetery and Finance. The Public are welcome to attend meetings and a Community time can be provided should they wish to speak. All meeting Agendas and Minutes are displayed on the website along with Financial Information.

The Town Clerk and Assistant Town Clerk are employed part time to support and advise the Council. They are the main point of Contact for the Community to raise an enquiry with the Councillors and handle the day-to-day administration ensuring the decisions made by Council are implemented.

Town and Parish Councils are the first tier of local Government. They provide communities with a voice and a structure for taking community action. A local Council is not the same as a Local Parochial Church Council, whose job is to promote the Church of England in an ecclesiastical area.

All local Councils have a statutory power to raise a precept (tax) to finance the activities and services they then provide for the community. North Petherton Town Council use this and any grants it receives to provide the following:

  • Allotments
  • Public Toilets
  • Heathfield Cemetery
  • Street cleaning and Grounds Maintenance
  • As sole Trustee of North Petherton Playing Fields Association, it provides and maintains Memorial Park and Parkers field playing fields.
  • Support to many local groups and organisations such as Youth Club, Library service and Community transport.